Ardara councillor named Donegal Cathaoirleach

Ardara councillor, Terence Slowey, has been officially elected as chair of Donegal County Council.

The decision was announced officially yesterday evening.

His Fine Gael colleague, councillor Barry O’Neill, has also been elected as Leas Cathaoirleach.

They have replaced the Fianna Fail pairing of Councillors Ciaran Brogan and Sean Mc Eniff.

Before handing over the chain of office, outgoing cathaoirleach Brogan said it had been an honour and privelage to be first citizen of the county and that the last year presented many special moments and occasions for him.