North West Region currently under a status yellow snow & ice warning

A Status Yellow snow and ice warning is in place for the counties of Sligo, Leitrim and Donegal this morning


The warning also apples to Mayo, Roscommon Cavan, Monaghan, and Longford


Met Éireann say sleet and snow will fall which may lead to accumulations. The most significant of which will be on higher ground.


Commuters will be facing hazardous travelling conditions, poor visibility and Ice on untreated surfaces.


The warning will remain in place until 8 p.m. tonight.