Boyle Celtic crowned RDFL Premier Division champions

Boyle Celtic were crowned Roscommon and District League Premier Division champions for the first time since 1987 following a 3-1 victory over Ballymoe at Celtic Park on Saturday evening.

Jake McCrann’s side knew a win or a draw over their opponents would guarantee the league title residing in North Roscommon for at least 12 months.

Played in front of a sizeable crowd, Boyle Celtic had plenty of opportunities but fell behind just before half-time courtesy of a Michael Kenny penalty.

The introduction of Gerard McDermottroe at the interval turned the game in Boyle Celtic’s favour as three second-half goals ensured the league title.

First, Shane Battles converted the rebound after Michael Corrigan’s initial header was saved on 56 minutes.

Battles got his and his side’s second 7 minutes later as his rasping drive gave Ballymoe goalkeeper Richard Thompson no chance to score his 14th league goal of the season.

First-half substitute David Flanagan made sure of the victory 8 minutes from time as he brilliantly found the back of the net from distance to ensure the victory and the league title.

After the game, Ocean FM Sport’s Ronan Flanagan got the thoughts of Boyle Celtic players, management and supporters following the historic victory: