IT Sligo to join Atlantic Technological University from Friday

IT Sligo will become a part of the Atlantic Technological University from tomorrow.

The University, which is an amalgamation of IT Sligo, LYIT, and GMIT, will be officially designated as such tomorrow, Friday and will be officially launched on Monday.

ATU will consist of eight campuses, nine when St. Angela’s College joins, across Donegal, Sligo, Mayo and Galway encompassing 2,250 staff and over 20,000 students enrolled.

Campuses will be designated with ATU before their name, for example, IT Sligo will now be known as ATU Sligo.

Speaking during a media briefing this afternoon, President of the ATU, Dr. Orla Flynn, says the new institution will cover an area slightly larger than Wales which, she says, shows how badly the University is needed for the region.