€1.3m for towns, villages in Sligo, Leitrim

Towns and villages in Sligo and Leitrim are to benefit from €1.3m funding.

Seven towns and villages in County Sligo will get a total of €670,000. They are Drumcliffe, Enniscrone, Tubbercurry, Carraroe, Ballisodare, Ballymote and Rosses Point.

Six projects in Leitrim are in line for €645,150. They are in Jamestown, Dowra, Rooskey, Drumshanbo, Carrigallen and Carrick on Shannon.

The money is coming under the Towns and Villages Renewal Scheme.

Sligo/Leitrim Fine Gael Deputy and Junior Minister Frank Feighan praised the local authorities in each county and the local communities who are involved in putting the projects forward.