Today is the final day of campaigning

Today is the final day of campaigning before the country goes to the polls tomorrow.

There are 19 candidates battling over 4 seats in the Sligo/Leitrim constituency.

Fianna Fail are fielding 3 candidates, sitting TD’s Marc MacSharry and Eamon Scanlon along with Shane Ellis. Fine Gael have two, Sligo Councillor Thomas Walsh and Senator Frank Feighan.

Nessa Cosgrove is representing Labour, Martin Kenny with Sinn Fein, Paul McWeeney of the National Party, Blaithin Gallagher with the Green Party, Renua’s Oisin O’Dwyer, Gino O’Boyle of People before Profit and Aontú Deputy leader, Anne McCloskey.

There are also 7 Independents looking for a seat in Sligo/Leitrim, they are; James Conway, John Perry, Bernie O’Hara, Marian Harkin, Declan Bree, Sean Wynne and Mary O’Donnell.

In the 5 seat Donegal constituency, there are 2 Fine Gael candidates, Martin Harley and sitting TD and Minister for Education, Joe McHugh, Fianna Fail also have 2 with sitting TD’s Pat ‘The Cope’ Gallagher and Charlie McConalogue, Sinn Fein have Pearse Doherty and Padraig McLochlainn, Aontú’s Mary Sweeney and Michael White of the Green Party.

5 Independents are hoping to gain a seat, they are sitting TD Thomas Pringle, Peter Casey, Niall McConnell, John O’Donnell and Arthur McGuinness.

The first votes in the general election are being cast today on Islands off the west coast including just 4 people on Innisfree.