Drumshanbo elects three Councillors

A full recount required in the Ballinamore electoral area yesterday.

Three Drumshanbo based candidates were eventually elected with sitting Councillor Brendan Barry retaining his seat, Fine Gael’s Enda Mc Gloin regained a seat he lost in 2014 and Independent Councillor Gerry Dolan cliamed the final seat after seeing off the challenge of Sine Fein’s Pat Gilhooly by five votes.

It’s as you were on the Manorhamilton Municipal District of Leitrim County Council with all six sitting county councillors being returned for another five years.

Mary Bohan Fianna Fáil, her party running mate Justin Warnock and Sinn Fein Councillor Padraig Fallon were all elected on the first count.

They were followed by Fine Gael’s Frank Dolan, Independent Candidate Felim Gurn and Glenfarne based Fine Gael Councillor Sean Mc Dermott.

Felim Gurn says all candidates that ran were trying to make a difference in their communities.