Corey pleased with Sligo’s first outing

Sligo boss Cathal Corey says the result was of secondary importance in last night’s season opener against Galway in the Connacht FBD League.

Sligo lost out by 1-12 to 0-11 to the Tribesmen in difficult conditions at the Connacht GAA Centre, but were competitive throughout in an entertaining contest.


Corey handed senior intercounty debuts to a number of youngsters, while also getting the chance to see some of his charges in action for the first time.

And he was pleased with what he saw…

Galway boss Kevin Walsh admitted the conditions were tough for both sides, but said it was a useful workout for both counties…

An youthful Leitrim side suffered a defeat to neighbours Roscommon, losing out by 2-14 to 1-3 in Annaduff.

Brendan Gallagher got the Leitrim goal, while Diarmuid Murtagh and Finbar Cregg were the goalscorers for Roscommon.


Round two of the competition takes place on Sunday, with Leitrim hosting Sligo in Ballinamore at 2pm.

That game will be live on Ocean FM.

Meanwhile, only three of Mayo’s team from last year’s All-Ireland Final defeat to Dublin will be available for the competition – because most of last season’s panel are on holidays in Malaysia.

Footballer of the Year Andy Moran, goalkeeper David Clarke and midfielder Barry Moran are available to manager Stephen Rochford.

The rest of the panel is made up by fringe players and last year’s under-21 team.

Mayo face Galway in Castlebar on Sunday.

FBD Insurance Connacht GAA Senior Football League 2018

Home Team Away Team Date Time Round Venue Referee
Leitrim 1-3 Roscommon 2-14 3/1/2018 19:00 Round 1 Leitrim GAA Centre of Excellence, Annaduff John Gilmartin
Sligo 0-11 Galway 1-12 3/1/2018 19:00 Round 1 Connacht GAA Centre Jerome Henry
Leitrim Sligo 7/1/2018 14:00 Round 2 Ballinamore James Molloy
Mayo Galway 7/1/2018 14:00 Round 2 Elverys MacHale Park, Castlebar Paddy Neilan
Mayo Leitrim 10/1/2018 19:00 Round 3 Elverys MacHale Park, Castlebar Shane Hehir
Roscommon Sligo 10/1/2018 19:00 Round 3 Kiltoom Paul Lydon
Roscommon Mayo 14/1/2018 14:00 Round 4 Dr Hyde Park Martin Flaherty
Galway Leitrim 14/1/2018 14:00 Round 4 Clonbur GAA Club Barry Judge
Galway Roscommon 21/1/2018 14:00 Round 5 Tuam Stadium Liam Devenney
Sligo Mayo 21/1/2018 14:00 Round 5 Tbc Eamon O Grady
Top Team in Group Runner up in Group 28/1/2018 14:00 Final Tbc