Sligo’s FBD opener is switched to Connacht GAA Centre

There is a new venue for Cathal Corey’s first game in charge of the Sligo senior footballers this evening.

The Yeats men take on Galway in the first round of the FBD League, with the game switched to the Connacht GAA Centre in Bekan due to an unplayable pitch in Tourlestrane following the heavy rain.

Newcomers Eddie McGuinness, Mikey Gordon, Paul Kilcoyne, Finnian Cawley, Jodie O’Reilly and Sean Carabine will all make their first starts for Sligo.

There is plenty of experience in the Sligo team too, though, with the likes of Aiden Devaney, Keelan Cawley, Pat Hughes, Adrian Marren and Neil Ewing all starting, with Eoin McHugh also making his return from injury.

The team in full is Aiden Devaney in goal; Eoin McHugh, Eddie McGuinness, Mikey Gordon, Keelan Cawley, Darragh Cummins and Gerard O’Kelly-Lynch in defence; Patrick O’Connor and Paul Kilcoyne in midfield; Neil Ewing, Finnian Cawley, Jodie O’Reilly, Adrian Marren, Pat Hughes and Sean Carrabine in the forwards.

Corey says that the restructured format of the FBD League will give him a great opportunity to see all his players in action…

Also at 7pm this evening, Leitrim will play host to Roscommon at the Leitrim GAA Centre in Annaduff in their first game of the year.

Leitrim boss Benny Guckian says the competition will give them quality preparation ahead of the start of the league…

And Declan Bonner begins his second stint as Donegal senior boss with a home game against Queen’s University in the McKenna Cup.

The pitch has passed two pitch inspections today.

Rory Gallagher’s first game in charge of Fermanagh comes against Monaghan at Brewster Park in the other game in Donegal’s section.

Elsewhere, holders Tyrone face Antrim, Cavan play St Mary’s College, Derry go up against Jordanstown, and Down face Armagh.

FBD Insurance Connacht GAA Senior Football League 2018

Home Team Away Team Date Time Round Venue Referee
Leitrim Roscommon 3/1/2018 19:00 Round 1 Leitrim GAA Centre of Excellence, Annaduff John Gilmartin
Sligo Galway 3/1/2018 19:00 Round 1 Connacht GAA Centre Jerome Henry
Leitrim Sligo 7/1/2018 14:00 Round 2 Ballinamore James Molloy
Mayo Galway 7/1/2018 14:00 Round 2 Elverys MacHale Park, Castlebar Paddy Neilan
Mayo Leitrim 10/1/2018 19:00 Round 3 Elverys MacHale Park, Castlebar Shane Hehir
Roscommon Sligo 10/1/2018 19:00 Round 3 Kiltoom Paul Lydon
Roscommon Mayo 14/1/2018 14:00 Round 4 Dr Hyde Park Martin Flaherty
Galway Leitrim 14/1/2018 14:00 Round 4 Clonbur GAA Club Barry Judge
Galway Roscommon 21/1/2018 14:00 Round 5 Tuam Stadium Liam Devenney
Sligo Mayo 21/1/2018 14:00 Round 5 Tbc Eamon O Grady
Top Team in Group Runner up in Group 28/1/2018 14:00 Final Tbc