Finn Harps U19s lose out to Derry, but U17s claim 4-0 win

FAI National League Elite Northern Section

Harps 19s lose to Derry

Finn Harps 1-2 Derry City

The Finn Harps U19s suffered defeat at the hands of local rivals Derry City in Ballybofey this afternoon with all the goals coming in the first half when the home side did have the better of the exchanges.

However, Joe Boyle’s side still trailed 2-1 at the interval and that’s the way it stayed until the final whistle. Striker Sean McBride gave the visitors an early lead but Harps responded quickly courtesy of an Alex Carolan equalizer.

But entering the final ten minutes of the half the Candystripes regained the advantage when Daniel Devine scored. If Harps was the better side in the first half it was definitely Derry who dominated the second period though the home side did have an opportunity for an early equalizer when Gareth Doherty found himself through one-on-one with the Derry keeper but the midfielder lifted his effort over the crossbar.

Still the hosts had to thank keeper Jamie Lee-McCarron who pulled off a couple of super saves to keep the visitors from adding to their two-goal tally. Near the end Harps did have a decent chance to get back on level terms but Doherty was unable to direct a header on goal from a B.J. Banda cross.

Finn Harps – Jamie Lee McCarron; Evan McCroary, Shane Blaney, Ciaran Kelly, Luke Nelis; Alex Carolan, Ryan Finn, Gareth Doherty, Dylan McCroary; Liam Walsh, B.J. Banda. Subs used: Mark McAteer, Michael Doherty, Zac Brolly.


Fine win for Harps U17s

The Finn Harps U17s stay firmly on course for qualification for the knockout stages of the FAI National League after an excellent 4-0 win over Derry City at Wilton Park this afternoon. Declan Boyle’s team led 2-0 at the break and added two more in the second half. The scorers were Niall McGinley, Keelan McGill, Adam Duffy and Corrie Lee-Brogan.

Joe Boyle, Lee McLaughlin, Keelan McGill, Keenan Diver, Odhran McGuinness, Stephen Doherty, Michael Gallagher, Corrie-Lee Bogan, Adam Duffy, Niall McGinley, Ryan Cunningham Subs used Brendan Barr, Jack Doherty, Corey McBride, Jack O’Donnell, Jamie Browne


Sligo Rovers U15s make it three wins from three

Callum Lavelle got the only goal of the game as Sligo Rovers’ U15 side kept up their 100 per cent start to the national league with a hard-earned defeat of the Mayo League in Castlebar’s Milebush on Saturday.


Results and goal-scorers from the SSE Airtricity Under 19, Under 17 and Under 15 National Leagues this weekend.

SSE Airtricity U19 National League

Northern Elite Division

Bohemians 2 (Jamie Wilson, Eoghan Morgan) St Patrick’s Athletic 3 (Michael Cregan 3-1pen)
Drogheda United 2 (Brian Caberly 2) Athlone Town 1 (Joe Carmody)
Finn Harps 1 (Alex Cameron) Derry City 2 (Sean McBride, Dylan Devine)
Longford Town 1 (Jerry Idahor) Dundalk 7 (Carlton Ubaezuono 2, Cian Flynn 2, Eric Whelan 2, Adam Kirwan)
Monaghan United-Cavan FP 0 Shelbourne 3 (Jordan Adeyemo 2, Ross Coyle)
Derry City 3 (Sean McBride, Stephen Duffy, Dylan Devine) Monaghan United-Cavan FP 1 (Alpha Ike)
Dundalk 1 (Stephen Kinsella) Bohemians 4 (John Ross Wilson 2, Danny Grant, Cian Fay).

Southern Elite Division

Shamrock Rovers 2 (Michael O’Connor 2) Cork City 2 (Cian Murphy, Conor Gleeson og).

SSE Airtricity U17 National League

Northern Elite Division

Athlone Town 3 (Callum McKelvey 2, Nashir Ishola) Drogheda United 1 (Gavin Molloy)
Derry City 0 Finn Harps 4 (Niall McGinley, Keelan McGill, Adam Duffy, Corrie Lee Bogan)
Dundalk 6 (Daniel Bogdanov 3, Dylan Tighe, Mark Traynor, Chris McFadden) Longford Town 2 (Daniel Luczynski, Dylan Steward)
Shelbourne 3 (Charlie Barry, Adam Maher, Dan Howlin) Monaghan United-Cavan FP 1 (Kamil Strachura).

Southern Elite Division

Cabinteely FC 3 (Clayton Walsh 2-1 pen, Evan Caulfield) UCD 1 (Dylan Reilly)
Cork City 0 Shamrock Rovers 4 (Dean Williams 2, Thomas Hannon, Evan Smithers)
Galway United 1 (Cathal Coyne) Limerick FC 3 (Lee Devitt, Edmund O’Dwyer, Mikey Conlon)
Kerry League 2 (Kevin Williams, Dillon Robinson) Wexford FC 0
Waterford FC 4 (Jack Larkin 2, Adam Conway, Colm Whelan pen) Cobh Ramblers 2 (Jaze Kabia pen, Jack Ford).

SSE Airitricity U15 National League

Group One

Longford Town 0 Finn Harps 8 (Luke Rudden 3, Daniel Gildea 2, Conor Black, Stephen Black + og)
Mayo League 0 Sligo Rovers 1 (Callum Lavelle)

Group Two

Bray Wanderers 4 (Ross Molloy, Stephen Sweeney, Panit O’Keeffe, James Furlong) Galway United 0
Shamrock Rovers 1 (Dean McMenamy) St Kevin’s Boys 1 (Paddy Moore)
UCD 1 (Sean Schutte) Athlone Town 3 (Dylan Gavin 3).

Group Three

Cobh Ramblers 0 Waterford FC 4 (Kyle Cuddy 2, Robert Bulmer + og)
Limerick FC 3 (Filip Mostowy 2, Ronan Geary) Kerry League 2 (Sean McGrath, Leo Gaxha)  Wexford FC 3 (Brody Murphy 3) Cork City 0.

Group Four

Cabinteely FC 0 St Patrick’s Athletic 2 (Kenny Lee, Scott Darcy)
Shelbourne 4 (Kian Doohan, James Cumiskey, Sean Cumiskey, Ethan Wynne) Drogheda United 1 (Robbie Dragusin)