Sligo council, Manorhamilton MD to choose new cathaoirligh today

Sligo County Council and its two municipal districts will today name their cathaoirligh for the coming year at today’s annual general meetings.

It is expected that Fianna Fail’s Seamus Kilgannon will be named the new county council cathaoirleach, replacing outgoing chair Fine Gael Councillor Hubert Keaney.

In Leitrim, The Manorhamilton Municipal District AGM also takes place today. Here, it’s expected Fine Gael’s Frank Dolan will take over from Fianna Fáil Councillor Justin Warnock as cathaoirleach.
The new Sligo County Council cathaoirleach will be chosen at this afternoon’s annual general meeting of the county council at Riverside. Fianna Fáil’s Seamus Kilgannon is expected to take the seat. If chosen, he will replace the outgoing chair Hubert Keaney of Fine Gael.

Councillor Keaney is tipped to replace Independent Councillor Marie Casserly as Sligo Municipal District chairperson and Mayor of Sligo.

Meanwhile, the Ballymote/Tubbercurry/West Sligo AGM will take place at Teach Laighne in Tubbercurry this morning. Here, it is anticipated that Tubbercurry Fianna Fáil Councilor Jerry Lundy will take over from Fine Gael’s Dara Mulvey as chair of the district.

Sligo will be the second county council in the region to decide its cathaoirligh.

That’s after Sinn Fein’s Gerry McMonagle last week became the cathaoirleach of Donegal County Council with Independent Councillor and Donegal Town man Tom Conaghan assuming the head position in the Donegal Municipal District.

Manorhamilton Municipal District will also choose its chairperson today. It is expected Fine Gael’s Frank Dolan will take over from Fianna Fáil Councillor Justin Warnock.

Leitrim County Council will make their arrangements known this Friday when they hold their AGM in Carrick-on-Shannon. It is expected outgoing Cathaoirleach, Fianna Fáil Councillor Mary Bohan, will be succeeded by Fine Gael Councillor Finola Armstrong-McGuire.