Sligo Cathaoirleach says progress on N4 helped his decision to support Varadkar

Fine Gael Sligo Leitrim TD Tony McLaughlin has confirmed his support for Leo Varadkar for leader today.

He’s one of a number of local politicians within the party backing the Dublin West TD.

So far none of the Councillors locally have indicated support for rival Simon Coveney with Dara Mulvey confirming his backing of Varadkar while many others including Sligo Cllr Sinead Maguire and Leitrim’s Sean McDermott and Frank Dolan remaining undecided.

Donegal Cllr Barry O’Neill also told Ocean FM News this lunchtime that he remains undecided.

The Cathaoirleach of Sligo County Council is another supporting Minister Varadkar.

The Fine Gael Councillor told Ocean FM News that his response to their lobbying on the N4 bypass at Castlebaldwin in recent years was one of the main reasons for his decision: