Low number of Donegal submissions to Constituency Commission

So far only ten submissions have been made to the Constituencies Commission from people in Donegal.

They mainly reflect the wishes of people to see Donegal reunited for election purposes.

At present, the south of the county is in the Sligo/Leitrim constituency.

Although the deadline has now passed for submissions to the Constituencies Commission, the submissions made are only being gradually put on line as officials go through them.

About 10 to 12 submissions are from Sligo/Leitrim and about a dozen from Cavan/Monaghan.

Yesterday evening, there were more than 320 submissions on line . . . but there’s expected to be much more as the days go by.

Some of the submissions are lengthy and detailed; others are a few paragraphs.

Some are handwriten and some include maps.

Among them are submissions from politicians such as Deputies Marc MacSharry, Eamon Scanlon, Pat ‘the Cope’ Gallagher, Cavan councillor John Paul Feely and Leitrim Councillor Paddy O Rourke.

A handwritten submission from Michael J Deane says he doesn’t think any part of Donegal or Cavan should be included with Sligo/Leitrim.

Steven Keenan says the current boundary of Sligo/Leitrim causes more problems than it solves.

Marian Moore, of the Sligo Fianna Fail Comhairle Dail Ceanntair, supports the call of Deputy MacSharry for Donegal to be reunited and also calls for any revision of constituency boundaries to increase representation for deprived constituencies.

Irene Hurst, from Rossnowlagh, Co Donegal, says she strongly disagrees with not being part of the rest of Donegal for electoral voting.

Meanwhile, more submissions continue to be posted on the Commission’s website as time goes by.

And a Commission spokeswoman told Ocean Fm News it will post a note when all submissions are published.