Dundalk claim League of Ireland champion title three years in a row

Dundalk are League of Ireland champions for a third successive year.Sunday night’s 2-1 defeat of Bohemians means Stephen Kenny’s side have wrapped up the title with two games still to go.Former Sligo Rovers players Alan Keane, Gary Rogers, Daryl Horgan, Darren Meenan and David McMillan all featured for Dundalk in last night’s game.Current Sligo Rovers midfielder Jimmy Keohane says that they are deserving winners…

Rovers were beaten 2-1 by Derry City at the weekend, bringing an end to their hopes of finishing in the top four.But the club’s U17 side beat Cork City 2-1 away from home in their league quarter-final on Saturday.Liam Kerrigan and Gary Higgins got the Rovers goals.Meanwhile, Finn Harps will be guaranteed top-flight football again next season, if Wexford youths fail to be beat second-placed Cork in Turner’s Cross on Monday evening.Harps drew 0-0 with Wexford on Friday.The club\’s U17 team were beaten 2-1 by UCD on Sunday in their league quarter-final.