North Sligo councillors now hold top positions

Two North Sligo councillors now hold the top council positions in the county.

They are Fine Gael’s Cllr Hubert Keaney, who’s the new cathaoirleach and Independent Marie Casserly who’s the new Mayor of Sligo.

Cllr Keaney has been unanimously elected as new cathaoirlech.

He was proposed this afternoon by party colleagues Dara Mulvey, seconded by Sinead Maguire.

Former Sligo north Leitrim TD John Perry and former Senator Michael Comiskey were present in the chamber today.

In his speech today, Councillor Keaney urged people to spend locally with a view to creating jobs:

Meanwhile, Cllr Casserly was proposed for the position of Mayor of Sligo by independent Councillor Gino O Boyle at this afternoon’s municipal district AGM.

Fine Gael Councillor Sinead Maguire seconded the proposal
There were no other nominations and Cllr Casserly was unanimously agreed on as the successor to outgoing mayor, Sinn Fein’s Thomas Healy.

Cllr Casserly, who is taking leave of absence from her job as a teacher to do the job of mayor, told Ocean FM News her priorities will the promotion of tourism, transport investment, sport, education and apprenticeships.

She says she will also be working with Sligo Volunteer Centre and charities .

She says she will also support IT Sligo’s bid for university status.

Specifically, she says she would like to see the establishment of an annual event to replace the fleadh.

Independent Gino O Boyle is the new deputy mayor of Sligo.

He was proposed by Fianna Fail’s Tom MacSharry and seconded by SinnFein’s Sean MacManus.

Both the positions of mayor and deputy mayor are now held by Independents.

Cllr Casserly spoke after her election to Ocean FM.