Cllr Mulvey the new chairman of Ballymote/Tubbercurry Municipal District

Fine Gael Councillor Dara Mulvey has been officially elected the new cathaoirleach of the Ballymote Tubbercurry Municipal District.

He was proposed at today’s AGM by Fianna Fail Cllr Joe Queenan and seconded by Fianna Fail Cllr Martin Baker.

Outgoing Cathaoirleach Paul Taylor was elected to serve as leas-cathaoirleach.

Cllr Mulvey told ocean FM news that jobs and representing the people from all parts of the district will be a priority.

And he says Tubbercurry’s inclusion in the Rural Economic Development Zone will be a key part of this: