Local Elections: Just five female Cllrs in Ocean FM franchise area

Just 5 out of the 30 seats on local electoral areas in the Ocean FM franchise area will be filled by women following the 2024 local elections.


Neither of the two women who contested the seven-seater Ballymote-Tubbercurry electoral area were elected, which means Independent Margaret Gormley was the last sitting councillor in that area following her election in 2014.


Labour’s Nessa Cosgrove was elected for the first time in two attempts in Sligo-Strandhill while Edel McSharry of Fianna Fáil joins Independent Marie Casserly in Sligo-Drumcliffe.


Long-serving Fianna Fáil Councillor Mary Bohan retained her seat in Manorhamilton as did Niamh Kennedy, an Independent in the Donegal MD.


Katie Deegan, Communications Coordinator with Women for Election says more measures must be in place to address the inequality: