Local elections in Donegal finally conclude

After almost two days, the Donegal County Council local elections came to a conclusion last night.


While other electoral areas in the county finalised who would fill seats by Sunday evening or the early hours of yesterday morning, two recounts delayed proceedings in Letterkenny.


At around 10pm last night, the final two seats of the new-look Donegal County Council were finally filled by sitting councillors Michael McBride and Donal Coyle.


The pair were re-elected to the Letterkenny LEA on count 14 without reaching the quota.


Mary T Sweeney of Aontu, who ended with 1,150 votes, was eliminated after a tight battle for the last seat in Letterkenny.