Changes confirmed for next season’s Sligo Leitrim District and Soccer League

A new third division is among the changes in structure for the Sligo Leitrim District and Soccer League.

A meeting was held with all clubs across the league on Monday evening to discuss the proposed changes.

As it stands, seven teams have expressed interest in the new First Division, three of which will be reserve teams for clubs already competing in the league.

Those clubs are Gurteen Celtic reserves, Ballymote Celtic Reserves and Arrow Harps reserves. The other clubs making up the new First Division are Abbey United, Dromore Villa and Valley Rovers. The league is still awaiting official confirmation from Chaffpool United on their participation.

Expressions of interest for the First Division are still being taken, with room for an additional three teams to make it up to a ten-team division.

Changes have also been made to the Southern Hotel Super League and Sligo Pallets Premier League formats. The Super League has been reduced from 13 teams to 12, while the Premier League has gone from 12 teams down to 10.

Last season’s Super League champions, MCR, have withdrawn completely from the league.

All teams in the Super League and Premier League will play each other twice, with each team in the First Division playing each other three times as it stands.

Four teams will be promoted and relegated from each division.

Abbey United have also been added to the Sligo Bay Lobsters Women’s League, and that league is staying with the one-round format that was in place last season.

League Secretary, Noel Kennedy, has been detailing the changes for next season.

Southern Hotel Super League teams 24/25

  1. Arrow Harps
  2. Aughanagh Celtic
  3. Ballisodare United
  4. Ballymote Celtic
  5. Calry Bohs
  6. Carbury
  7. Cartron United
  8. Glenview Stars
  9. Gurteen Celtic
  10. Merville United
  11. St John’s
  12. Strand Celtic

Sligo Pallets Premier League teams 24/25

  1. Ballygawley Celtic
  2. Benbulben FC
  3. Calry Bohs Reserves
  4. Cliffoney Celtic
  5. Coolaney United
  6. Dromahair FC
  7. Kilglass/Enniscrone United
  8. Manor Rangers
  9. Real Tubber
  10. Strand Celtic Reserves

First Division teams 24/25

  1. Abbey United
  2. Arrow Harps Reserves
  3. Ballymote Celtic Reserves
  4. Chaffpool United
  5. Dromore Villa
  6. Gurteen Celtic Reserves
  7. Valley Rovers