Galway complete 3-in-a-row in Connacht

A last-gasp free from Galway goalkeeper Conor Glesson gave Galway a dramatic Connacht senior football championship final win over rivals Mayo at Pearse Stadium in Salthill on Sunday, as the tribesmen won by 0-16 to 0-15.

The Tribesman were trailing Mayo by two points as the game ticked into five minutes of added time – but they managed to find two scores to draw level – before Gleeson fired over his 47-metre free in the closing seconds.

Mayo got one final chance to draw level – but their long-range kick for an equaliser drifted wide.

After being considered slightly fortunate to have beaten Sligo in the Connacht semi-final, Galway produced a performance of real character and determination here, despite trailing Mayo for most of the game.

The victory was Galway’s third consecutive Connacht SFC title – and their 50th in the county’s history.

Connacht SFC final 
Galway 0-16 Mayo 0-15

Munster SFC final
Clare 1-13 Kerry 0-23