Laffey & Deignan named in Sligo team for Galway

Coolera/Strandhill’s county championship winning captain Peter Laffey and Shamrock Gaels sharp shooter Lee Deignan have both been named in Sligo’s starting 15 for Saturday’s Connacht senior football semi-final against Galway at Markievicz Park.

The team named by manager Tony McEntee shows two changes from the team that started against Leitrim two week’s ago.

Brian Cox and Paddy O’Connor drop to the bench – while David Quinn, who started against Leitrim, isn’t included in the matchday 26.

Paul McNamara also returns to the Sligo line-up.

Galway, meanwhile, have named former All-Star Shane Walsh in their starting 15 for Saturday – with Damien Comer also included in the subs.

Both players missed almost all of the league campaign through injury – but they are back in the mix for the Connacht semi-final this weekend.

Saturday’s match will be broadcast live on Ocean FM Sport from 3:30pm – in association with Oates Breheny Group.