Updated: Frank Feighan confirms he will seek Fine Gael nomination despite changes to election areas

Changes to Dáil constituencies have been announced this morning.


The Electoral Commission earlier delivered its report on the redrawing of election areas.


The Electoral Commission has recommended that the number of TDs for the next Dáil be increased to 174, up from 160.


Locally South Donegal will remain in the Sligo Leitrim constituency however the North Roscommon area has been allocated to the Roscommon East Galway electoral area.


The rest of Donegal remains unchanged as a 5 seater constituency.



The redrawing of the areas could be seen as blow to sitting Fine Gael TD Frank Feighan who has traditional links to the Boyle and North Roscommon area.


The former Junior Minister says he will seek the Fine Gael nomination for Fine Gael in the Sligo Leitrim constituency to contest the next general election.



This publication of today’s report has now alleviated fears that the County of Leitrim would have been split for the next general election.


Sitting Leitrim based TD Martin Kenny says that although he is disappointed that north Roscommon is being removed from the Sligo Leitrim Constituency he has expressed his relief that any moves to split Leitrim were not considered by the Electoral Commission.