Summerhill no match for Omagh CBS firepower

There was no St Patrick’s Day fairytale end this year’s All-Ireland Colleges football championship for Summerhill College of Sligo at Croke Park as Ulster champions Omagh CBS showed greater speed and firepower to win by 6-16 to 3-8 and claim a second Hogan Cup success for the Tyrone school.

It was a chastening All-Ireland final for the Connacht champions yet, to their credit, they fought courageously to the very end against a talented Omagh side who produced a schools performance of the highest order.


An early goal inside the opening five minutes set the tone and the concession of two more before half-time left Summerhill with a mountain to climb, as they trailed by 3-8 to 0-4.

Despite that deficit, they battled manfully throughout the second-half and goals from substitute Conor Flynn (2) and Shea O’Nell were no more than they deserved.

However, Omagh led by the talented captain Eoin McElholm at centre half-forward, had a range of strong scoring forwards  with their full forward line of Conor Owens, Liam Og Mossey and Ruairi McCullagh causing Summerhill numerous problems for much of the afternoon.

Three more second-half goals followed for the Ulster side as they eventually ran out victors by double scores.

All-Ireland Hogan Cup final result
Omagh CBS (Tyrone) 6-16 Summerhill College (Sligo) 3-8