Local players win end-of-season awards

There local soccer players collected end-of-season awards at the SSE Airticity Women’s National League awards ceremony in Dublin.

Sligo Rovers Aoife Brennan won Goal of the Season for her stunning free-kick against Treaty United at the Showgrounds last April.

Watch the Mayo woman’s goal here:

Both Sligo Rovers top scorer Emma Doherty (11) and Manorhamilton’ Muireann Devaney (Athlone Town) were shortlisted for Young Player of the Year – but the award was won by Shelbourne midfielder Jessie Stapleton.

However, both Doherty and Devaney were included in the women’s Team of the Year.

Sligo Rovers head coach Steve Feeney was also nominated for Coach of the Year.

That award went to Athlone Town boss Tommy Hewitt.