Additional speed cameras go live across the north west

61 new speed cameras have gone live morning as Gardai and the Road Safety Authority encourage drivers to lower their speed.


Additional cameras will be located in Sligo, Leitrim and Donegal.  The locations include the N15 in Sligo and Donegal, the N56 in Donegal and the N4 in Leitrim.



The cameras are spread around 23 counties with the majority on regional and national routes.


It comes after 5 people were killed on Irish roads over the weekend, bringing the total number of those who died in traffic accidents this year to 94.


The Junior Transport Minister is to introduce regulations to double fixed charges related to key road traffic offences which will now go over the 100 euro mark for the first time.



Cllr. Donal Gilroy says the location in Sligo on the N15 at Cashelgarron will encourage motorists to reduce speed on a notorious stretch or road for accidents.


The Fianna Fail Councillor says it’s vital that the locations of speed checks are regularly changed in all areas: