Benbulben FC win Frank Kennedy Memorial Cup

Benbulben FC captured the Frank Kennedy Memorial Cup for 2022 with a 3-0 win over St John’s in Friday evening’s final at Ray MacSharry Park.

Two goals from Oisín Gilmartin (one in either half) and one from Michael Gilmartin gave the north Sligo club a memorable cup final win.

The sides had met in the Connacht Cup last November,  a tie which St John’s won 4-3.

But here, Benbulben managed to extract revenge.

Both sides finished the game with 10 players, with Benbulben’s Sean O’Flynn dismissed in the opening half, and St John’s Michael Doyle seeing red in the second.