Atlantic Technological University will be officially launched today.

The official launch of the Atlantic Technological University will take place later today.



The University, which is an amalgamation of IT Sligo, LYIT, and GMIT, was officially designated on Friday and will be officially launched today by the minister for Higher Education Simon Harris.



ATU will consist of eight campuses which will increase to nine when St. Angela’s College joins at a later stage.



Junior Minister and Sligo Leitrim TD Frank Feighan says the formation of the technological university will present huge opportunities to the students in the future:



Dr Orla Flynn, University President, explains why the partnership is so important: