Maura McNally confirmed as chairperson of the Atlantic Technological University

The Minister for Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science, Simon Harris TD, has appointed the first governing body of the new Atlantic Technological University which will open its doors at the beginning of April.


It follows the granting of Technological University status to a consortium comprising Galway-Mayo, Sligo and Letterkenny Institutes of Technology.


Maura McNally a native of Dromod, Co Leitrim will assume the role of chairperson of the governing body.


Ms Mc Nally is a senior counsel and in July 2020 was elected Chair of the Bar Council.


Oonagh Monaghan, Felim McNeela and Anne McHugh, Chief Executive of Donegal ETB have also been appointed as external members of the governing body.


Junior Minster and Sligo Leitrim TD Frank Feighan says the members of the governing body will bring unique skillsets to their roles.