St Angela’s College expected to be part of new Atlantic Technological University

The Minister for Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science, Simon Harris has incorporated St Angela’s College in Sligo with IT Sligo in the formation of a new Technological University which will be known as the Atlantic University.


The Atlantic Technological University (Ollscoil Teicheolaíochta an Atlantaigh) is anticipated to open at the start of April next year.


The name chosen by the applicant institutes of Galway-Mayo, Sligo and Letterkenny Institutes of Technology follows a comprehensive survey commissioned by the Institutes from external consultants of relevant internal and external stakeholders including most notably the students and staff of the three Institutes. This name has the full support of all three governing bodies.


Minister Harris said: “I am pleased to be able to announce the name of this Ireland’s fourth technological university and that subject to the relevant legislative processes being completed the date of establishment of the Atlantic Technological University shall be 1 April 2022. This means that students of the current three Institutes who graduate in this academic year of 2021/2022 and henceforth in the West and North West will do so with university qualifications”.


The decision by Minister Harris has been welcomed by Sligo Leitrim Fianna Fáil TD Marc MacSharry and by fellow Sligo Leitrim TD and Minister of state Frank Feighan, who says the move will be beneficial for St Angela’s