Deputy Marc MacSharry votes against the government in confidence vote

Minister for Foreign Affairs, Simon Coveney, has survived a Dail confidence vote however, Sligo/Leitrim TD, Marc MacSharry has resigned the Fianna Fáil parliamentary party and voted against the government.

John McGuinness, who like Deputy MacSharry has been critical of Fianna Fail leadership, wasn’t present for last nights vote.

Minister Coveney won by 92 votes to 59 also securing a number of Independent TD’s support including Sligo/Leitrim Deputy, Marian Harkin.

Due to votes been cast alphabetically, Marc MacSharry’s ‘Níl’ was immediately followed by Taoiseach Micheal Martin’s ‘Tá’.