Sligo’s minors of 1968 salute Sligo’s minors of 2021

This is a picture of Sligo minor football mentor in 1968, Colm Mullarkey, with Sligo minor football mentors in 2021, Colm McGee and Paul Henry.

Colm is holding the matchball and programme from the 1968 All-Ireland minor football final between Sligo and Cork.

Two players from 68, Jimmy Kilgallon and John Brennan, joined Austin O’Callaghan on ‘The Final Whistle’ to share their memories of the first Sligo minor team to win a Connacht title 53 years ago – and to pay tribute to the 2021 Sligo minor footballers ahead of their All-Ireland semi-final against Meath.