Donegal among counties in shared rural schools plan

Donegal is among a number of counties where some rural schools will be given the option of sharing teachers and principals under a new project being launched today.

Six clusters across Galway, Donegal, Kerry, Wicklow and Waterford are being formed, made up of between 3 and 5 schools.

They’ll be encouraged to identify common challenges and receive funding under the two-year initiative.

Among the options are sharing teachers, organising common activities and bringing a number of schools under the management of one principal.