Jack Murray expected to be elected as new Donegal Cathaoirleach

Donegal County Council will select a new Cathaoirleach today.


It’s expected to be Sinn Fein Councillor Jack Murray from Lifford, in the Inishowen Municipal District.


He was co-opted to replace Padraig McLochlainn following his election to the Dail.


It will mean all three councils in the north west will then have chosen their chairpersons for the year ahead.


Former Sligo county GAA team manager and Fianna Fail Councillor Paul Taylor is the new cathaoirleach in Sligo, with Fianna Fail Councillor Paddy O Rourke holding the position in Leitrim.


Cllr Michael Naughton, the former Donegal Municipal District cathaoirleach has been previewing today’s council meeting in Donegal.