Weather warning in place until 6pm

A status yellow warning for snow and ice is in place for 18 counties including Sligo, Leitrim and Donegal.

It covers all of Connacht, Donegal, Monaghan, Cavan, and all Leinster counties – except Wexford and Kilkenny – and is in place until 6 this evening.

The Coast Guard is warning people to stay away from the water as wet and windy conditions are expected.

Irish Coast Guard spokesman Ger O’Flynn says conditions are treacherous: