Minister Ring confirms projects in Sligo, Leitrim and Donegal to benefit under Town and Village Scheme

Areas throughout the north west are to benefit from grants that have just been announced under the Town and Village Renewal Scheme.

The grants will support a range of projects, among them refurbishment and upgrading of local facilities including peace gardens, study centres and toilets, establishing village parks, upgrade of halls, tourism promotion,and heritage centres.

In Sligo, Ballinafad, Mullaghmore, Bunninadden, Enniscrone and Riverstown are to get €100,000 for projects in each location.

€64,000 is to go to Culfadda for the community hall.

In Leitrim, Drumkeeran will get €100,000, Ballinaglera almost €30,000, and €24,000 for Dromahair.

Meanwhile, in south Donegal, Rossnowlagh is to receive €100,000 for redeveloping an underutilised car park.

Keadue, in County Roscommon, is to get €100,000.

The grant announcements have been welcomed by local politicians, including Fine Gael Councillor Thomas Walsh, Senator Frank Feighan, Minister Joe McHugh and Independent Alliance Councillor Marie Casserly.

Sligo/Leitrim Fine Gael Deputy Tony McLoughlin says the grants are votes of confidence in local communities.