Tourlestrane complete four-in-a-row

Tourlestrane are the 2019 Belfry Senior Football Champions in Sligo after a one-sided 2-17 to 0-9 win over Coolera/Strandhill in Markievicz Park on Sunday.

Tourlestrane are the first side to win four-in-a-row in 56 years – Ballisodare last completed the feat in 1963.

Listen to the moment Tourlestrane joint-captains James Leonard & Adrian McIntyre lifted the Owen B Hunt Cup on Sunday:

The south Sligo side hit 1-5 in the first 14 minutes and never looked back as they claimed their fourth Sligo senior football championship title in-a-row.

Liam Gaughan hit 2-4 for the green and gold in a man-of-the-match display – including a fine goal in the dying minutes to seal the victory.

Tourlestrane will now play Roscommon champions Padraig Pearses in the Connacht Club Championship quarter-final on Sunday 3rd November.

It will be a home game for the Sligo side but the venue has yet to be confirmed.

Listen back to the post match celebrations and reaction from Markievicz Park. Interviews include Tourlestrane’s Eamonn O’Hara, Gerry McGowan, James Leonard and Stephen Henry, as well as Coolera/Strandhill’s Niall Murphy and John McPartland (Jnr):