Leitrim under 20s lose to Roscommon after extra-time

Leitrim’s under 20 gaelic footballers pushed Roscommon all the way in Wednesday evening’s Connacht Under 20 football championship before losing by a single point after extra-time in Carrick-on-Shannon on a final scoreline of Roscommon 3-17 Leitrim 4-13 (aet).

Joe Cox’s side established a five-point lead at half-time (3-4 to 1-5) with two of those Leitrim goals coming from Mark Diffley.

Roscommon looked dangerous in attack for much of the game but Leitrim created plenty of chances themselves. Oisín Bohan’s second-half goal kept them firmly in the hunt.

But Roscommon dug deep and despite having midfielder Padraig Halpin sent off, they managed to get the scores that counted when the contest moved into extra-time.

Leitrim team: Seán Reynolds; Shaun Chandler, Fintan Earley, Liam Rowley, Ciaran Cullen (0-2), Conor O’Dwyer, Riordan O’Rourke, Aaron Hoare (0-1), Jack Gilheaney (0-3, 1 free), Paul Keaney, Mark Diffley (2-4, 1-0 pen 0-3 frees), Seán Harkin, Jordan Reynolds (1-1), Tom Prior, James Clancy (0-1). Subs used: Oisín Bohan (1-1) for O’Rourke (16, black card), Diarmuid Kellegher for J Reynolds (53), Evan Harkin for Prior (60), Jack Barnes for Cullen (69), Mark Keegan for Keaney (69), Dylan Maguire for Clancy (71).