Walsh, Casserly, Gilroy and Fox elected from Sligo-Drumcliffe

All five councillors have now been elected from the Sligo-Drumcliffe electoral area.

Sinn Fein’s Thomas Healy was elected on count 4.

Thomas Walsh (FG – pictured), Marie Casserly (Ind) and Donal Gilroy (FF) following suit on count 6.

Casserly was elected with 1688 votes, Walsh received 1613 votes and  Gilroy 1534.

The final seat was taken by Tom Fox (pictured with family & supporters above) for Fine Gael – making it two seats for the party in this area. Count 7 dealt with the distribution of Marie Casserly’s surplus. Fox received 55 votes, giving him 1375 while Fianna Fáil Seamus Kilgannon got 49 votes for a total of 1217, which saw him eliminated – and Fox elected.

It means there are three first-time councillors (Tom Fox, Thomas Walsh and Donal Gilroy) elected from the Sligo-Drumcliffe area.

The election of Casserly and Gilroy means Streedagh near Grange has two councillors on the new Sligo County Council.

View the final count details from Sligo-Drumcliffe here.