Bree set to top poll in Sligo-Strandhill electoral area

Sligo’s longest-serving councillor, Independent Socialist Declan Bree, is set to top the poll in Sligo-Strandhill .

That’s according to final tally figures just completed for that electoral area.

Bree’s first preference total is 1,323 votes which would see him elected on the first count.

He’s expected to be followed by Fianna Fáil’s Tom MacSharry on 1,023.

Current Mayor of Sligo Rosaleen O’Grady is on 970 first preference votes.

Sinn Féin’s Chris MacManus is on 944.

A battle royale is developing between Fine Gael candidates Blaine Gaffney and Sinead Maguire. Gaffney is on 891 votes with his running mate and Dáil candidate Sinead Maguire one vote behind on 890.

People Before Profit’s Gino O’Boyle is still in the hunt with 871. He would be expected to pick up transfers as left-leaning candidates are either elected or eliminated.

The are six seats in the Sligo-Strandhill electoral area where the quota is expected to be about 1,188 votes.

Note: The figures above are tally figures – the official count for Sligo-Strandhill will begin later.

Follow the count and see the online tally figures for Sligo-Strandhill here.

Sligo-Drumcliffe is the next electoral area to be tallied, followed by Ballymote-Tubbercurry.