Ballymote-Tubbercurry tallying underway

Tallying for the Ballymote-Tubbercurry electoral area in County Sligo is continuing.

13 candidates are vying for seven seats.

In Dromore West, where two candidates are based, Independent Councillor Michael Clarke has received 263 first preferences, while Fine Gael’s Blair Feeney got 155.

Meanwhile, in nearby Dromard, Clarke picked up 196 first preferences, and Feeney 77.

Of the 13 candidates in the electoral area, six are outgoing councillors.

They are current council cathaoirleach, Fianna Fail’s Martin Baker from Riverstown; Independent Councillor Michael Clarke, and former Fianna Fail and now Independent Councillor Joe Queenan, both from West Sligo; Councillors Keith Henry from Ballymote and Paul Taylor from Gurteen, both Fianna Fail; and Fine Gael’s Dara Mulvey, from Coolaney.

Willie Gormley is seeking to win the seat held by his late aunt Margaret.

Based on the boxes tallied so far, Fine Gael’s Dara Mulvey has 1,225 votes, followed by Fianna Fáil’s Paul Taylor in 1082 and Independent Joe Queenan on 975.

Keith Henry (Fianna Fáil) and Gerard Mullaney (Fine Gael) are both polling well – even though boxes in their home areas have still to be opened.

Willie Gormley has received 630 first preference votes so far.

However, this picture could change significantly as more boxes are tallied.

Follow the count and see the final tally figures for Ballymote-Tubbercurry here.