Brendan Leonard to lead Sligo GAA in 2019

Brendan Leonard was elected as Sligo GAA’s new Chaireperson at Wednesday night’s Annual Convention in the Radisson Blu Hotel.

The Tourlestrane clubman was elected ahead of Gerry O’Connor (St Pat’s) and he succeeds Joe Taaffe who stood down from the post after completing his five-year stint.

Taaffe will continue to sit on the County Executive in 2019, having been elected to the postiion of Vice-Treasurer.

Declan Rouse from the Enniscrone/Kilglass club is the new Vice-Chair, while Castleconnor’s Bart Barrins is the new PRO after he defeated Bunninadden’s Keith Henry in an election.

Listen to new Sligo GAA Chairman Brendan Leonard on his election win:


Sligo GAA County Board 2019
Chairperson: Brendan Leonard
Vice-Chair: Declan Rouse
Secretary: Bernadine McGauran
Assistant Secretary: Seán Carroll
Treasurer: Peter Greene
Assistant Treasurer: Joe Taffe
Coaching Officer: John McPartland
Cultural Officer: Dermot Gannon
Children’s Officer: Terrance Marren
PRO: Bart Barrins
Central Council: John Murphy
Connacht Council delegates: Gerry O’Connor & John Niland.