Fixtures confirmed for this year’s Connacht Minor and Junior Championships

The fixtures have been confirmed by Connacht GAA for this year’s Connacht Minor and Junior Football Championships.

This year’s minor competition will be played in the new U17 grade, and will feature a B competition for the three counties that don’t make the final.

The competition gets underway on Friday, May 4 with Leitrim away to Mayo in Castlebar at 7pm, while Galway host Roscommon.

The following Friday, Sligo host Galway in Markievicz Park at 7pm in their first game, while Roscommon host Mayo.

Round three will then take place after the Leaving Cert exams on Saturday, June 23, with Leitrim hosting Roscommon and Sligo travelling to Mayo.

Round four on Friday, June 29, sees Sligo host Leitrim; and round five on July 6 will feature Sligo away to Roscommon and Leitrim at home to Galway.

The top two teams will clash in the final on July 13, while the teams that finish fourth and fifth will play-off with the winners facing the county that finishes third in the B competition final.

In the Connacht Junior Championship, Mayo and Roscommon will clash in the preliminary round on Wednesday week in Charlestown with the winner facing Leitrim in the semi-finals on Thursday, May 10.

On the other side of the draw, Sligo will be away to Galway on Wednesday, May 9, with the final on May 13 in Castlebar before the Mayo versus Galway senior championship tie.



Preliminary Round         Wednesday 2nd May

7.00pm: Finish on the Day

Mayo                     v              Roscommon                       Venue  Charlestown

Referee                                                                               S Hehir (G)

Standby Referee/Linesman                        E O Grady (L)

Linesman                                                            R Hynes (S)

Standby Referee                                              T J Keaveney (S)

Semi Final                           Wednesday 9th  May

Galway                 v              Sligo


Standby Referee/Linesman


Standby Referee

Semi Final                           Thursday 10th  May

Leitrim                 v              Mayo/Roscommon


Standby Referee/Linesman


Standby Referee


FINAL SUNDAY 13th MAY  @ MacHale Park





Connacht Minor (U 17) Football Championship 2018


Round Robin Format   as per Rial 6.21 T.O 2017

First named team at home

Top 2 teams play Final.

B Competition

A:  Team 4 v Team 5

Final: Team 3 v Winners A

Round 1.         FRIDAY 4th May

7.00pm:  Mayo                       v          Leitrim`           Venue:            Mac Hale Park, Castlebar

Referee                                   P Daly (R)

Standby Referee                     P Neilan (R)

Linesman                                 A O Connell (G)

Sideline Official                      P Mctiernan (R)

7.00pm: Galway                      v          Roscommon                Venue;     Tuam Stadium

Referee                                   B Judge (S)

Standby referee                      J Henry (M)

Linesman                                 P Lydon (M)

Sideline Official                      G McMahon (M)

Round 2         FRIDAY  11th MAY

7.00pm:           Sligo                v          Galway                                    Venue             Markievicz Park

Referee                                   D Corcoran (M)

Standby referee                      E O Grady (L)

Linesman                                 R McBrien (L)

Sideline Official                      J Glavey (M)

7.00pm:           Roscommon    v          Mayo                           Venue             Hyde Park

Referee                                   M Flaherty(G)

Standby referee                      J Molloy(G)

Linesman                                 A O Connell (G)

Sideline Official                      A Coyne (G)




Round 3          Saturday 23rd June

Leitrim            v          Roscommon

Mayo               v          Sligo


Round 4          Friday 29th June

Galway                        v         Mayo

Sligo                v          Leitrim


Round 5          Friday 6th July

Roscommon    v          Sligo

Leitrim            v          Galway