Coola PPS first years win Connacht final

Coola Post-Primary School won the Connacht B First Year final this afternoon in Lecarrow.

Man of the match Aaron Mullen got the only goal of the game from a free-kick as the Sligo school beat St Joseph’s Foxford 1-0.

Goalkeeper Fionn Healy also saved a late penalty to secure the win, while Coola also had impressive performers in Sam Tuohy, Chris McGowan, Ciaran Kenny, Dylan McKenna and Diarmuid Lavin.

The team is coached by Coola teachers Kevin McCarthy and Keith Raymond.

Coola will now face St Mary’s Secondary School from Newport in County Tipperary in the All-Ireland semi-final next Thursday.


Bank of Ireland FAI Schools First Year ‘B’ Boys National Cup Semi Final

Coola Post Primary School vs St. Mary’s SS, Newport

Venue TBC

Thursday, April 26, KO 1pm