Five garda stations in Sligo and Donegal without a permanent garda

The number of stations in the Northwest without a permanent garda has continued to increase, despite a net increase of 600 in the size of the force last year.

In the northwest, there were five stations operating without a dedicated garda assigned to them at the end of 2017.

In Co Sligo, Coolaney is a “ghost” station, while in Co Donegal, Clogher, Burtonport, Ballintra and Ramelton are the same.

Brendan O Connor is a spokesperson for the Donegal Garda Representative Association: