Closing date this evening for West of Ireland entries

The closing date for this year’s West of Ireland Amateur Open is today, with the official cut-off at midnight tonight.

The annual event previously won by the likes of Rory McIlroy, Shane Lowry and Padraig Harrington, is the annual season-opener for the Irish amateur golf year.

Barry Anderson is the reigning champion, and is expected to defend his title at County Sligo Golf Club, where he learned the game as a youngster.

2016 winner Jonathan Yates, Irish Amateur Open champion Peter O’Keeffe, and reigning East of Ireland champion Reece Black, and South of Ireland winner James Sugrue are all expected to compete at Rosses Point this year.

The event takes place over Easter weekend, starting on Good Friday, March 30, and running through to Tuesday, April 3.

The pre-tournament qualifier takes place on the Wednesday beforehand.