Sligo players to feature in Sigerson Cup final

Sligo’s Kevin McDonnell, Gerard O’Kelly-Lynch, Nathan Mullen and Paddy O’Connor will all be involved in Saturday’s Sigerson Cup final in Dublin.

O’Kelly-Lynch and McDonnell both featured in defence for the NUIG team that qualified for their first decider in 15 years with a 2-12 to 15-points victory over DIT in Mullingar last night.

O’Connor came off the bench for UCD as last year’s beaten finalists saw off UUJ by 18-points to 1-13 after two periods of extra-time.

Donegal’s Eoin McHugh featured for the Belfast side.

The final will take place at Santry Avenue in Dublin at 3.30pm on Saturday.

The four players are also due to be part of the Sligo senior squad for Sunday’s rescheduled Allianz National League tie against Fermanagh in Markievicz Park.

That game will be live on Ocean FM from throw-in at 2pm in association with EJ Menswear.