McSharry narrowly misses out on final spot

Sligo’s Mona McSharry has narrowly missed out on a place in the semi-finals of the 50 metres breaststroke at the European Short Course Championships in Denmark.

The 17-year-old’s time of 30.39 seconds was almost half-a-second faster that her time in the qualifying heats, as she finished 12th of the 16 swimmers in what was her first ever senior semi-final.

She will be back in the pool in Copenhagen for the heats of the 100 metres individual medley tomorrow morning.

And for the first time ever at a senior international meet, Ireland will be represented in the 4x50m Mixed Medley Relay with Danielle Hill (Backstroke), Mona McSharry (Breaststroke), Conor Brines (Butterfly) and Calum Bain (Freestyle) competing for a place in tomorrow’s final.

Day 1 Results
Wednesday 13th December100m Butterfly                
Conor Brines                     H 52.97
Brendan Hyland                H 52.20
50m Breaststroke           
Mona McSharry                H 30.80 (16th)     SF 30.29 (12th)
50m Breaststroke           
Alex Murphy                      H 26.66 (14th)     SF 26.52 (11th)
Darragh Greene                H 27.65
Nicholas Quinn                  H 28.44
400m Freestyle                
Jordan Sloan                     H 3:43.21 ISR
100m Backstroke             
Danielle Hill                        H 1:02.46
200m Backstroke             
Conor Ferguson                 H 1:55.84

Day 2 Heats Schedule
200m Freestyle                Jordan Sloan, Brendan Hyland
200m Breaststroke         Alex Murphy, Darragh Greene, Nicholas Quinn
100m Freestyle                Danielle Hill
100m Backstroke            Conor Ferguson
100m IM                            Mona McSharry
4x50m Medley                  Ireland

Results/Schedule: Click HERE (Heats 8.30am/Finals 4pm Ireland)

Athlete Home Programme Coach
Calum Bain University of Stirling Bradley Hay
Conor Brines Larne Peter Hill
Conor Ferguson National Centre (Dublin) Ben Higson
Darragh Greene University College Dublin Earl McCarthy
Danielle Hill Larne Peter Hill
Brendan Hyland National Centre (Dublin) Ben Higson
Mona McSharry Marlins (Ballyshannon) Grace Meade
Alex Murphy National Centre (Dublin) Ben Higson
Nicholas Quinn University of Edinburgh Chris Jones
Jordan Sloan Bangor Paul Dennis