Donegal miss out on final place, but Sligo and Leitrim end league with wins

Donegal have missed out on a place in this year’s National League final.

Rory Gallagher’s side surrendered a four-point lead as Mayo claimed a 0-13 to 1-12 win in Castlebar yesterday.

Donegal boss Rory Gallagher, captain Michael Murphy and defender Frank McGlynn gave their reaction to Ocean FM’s Pauric Hilferty…


Kerry will instead meet Dublin in next week’s league final after finishing ahead of Donegal and Monaghan on score difference.

Kerry beat Tyrone by seven points, while Dublin came from six points down to beat Monaghan.
Cavan were relegated along with Roscommon after losing to the Rossies.

There places in Division One next year will go to Kildare and Galway, who were promoted from Division Two, while Fermanagh and Derry were relegated from the second division.

A dramatic injury-time goal saw Tipperary overcome Armagh in Division Three, and also pip the Orchard County to promotion.

Louth were already promoted before losing by 0-17 to 1-11 to Sligo in Drogheda yesterday.

Sligo finished fourth in the table overall.

Here’s manager Niall Carew speaking with Ocean FM’s Gavin Cawley and the Sligo Weekender’s Liam Maloney…

A defeat to Offaly relegated Laois, while Antrim also went down after drawing with Longford.

Westmeath and Wexford were promoted from Division Four prior to the weekend, and Leitrim ended their campaign with a 1-13 to 2-8 win over Waterford.

In hurling, Wexford beat Kilkenny, Galway beat Waterford, Limerick beat Cork and Tipperary defeated Offaly in yesterday’s league semi-finals.

Donegal claimed the Division 3A title in Derry on Saturday after a comprehensive 4-25 to 1-12 defeat of Tyrone.