Connacht name their team for Wasps challenge

The Connacht team to face Wasps in round 3 of the Champions Cup at the Ricoh Arena on Sunday has been named. Head coach Pat Lam has made four personnel changes from the side that registered a bonus point win over Benetton Treviso in the Guinness PRO12 six days ago.

Ireland international Niyi Adeolokun returns this week and starts on the right wing, shifting Cian Kelleher over to the left.

Kieran Marmion also returns to start in the number 9 shirt while Jack Carty is restored at outhalf.

Up front, Ultan Dillane returns for his first game since international duty in the November Test Series. Last week’s Man of the Match Tom McCartney will earn his 50th Connacht cap when he runs out in Coventry on Sunday.

Finlay Bealham and Peter are both named among the replacements.

Commenting on the team selection and upcoming game, Pat Lam said:

“It’s great to see the return of our internationals who all contributed to a successful and historic Autumn Series for Ireland. They all add to the competition for places which is making our selection meetings even longer.

“The back-to-back window in Champions Cup is always the most testing and the draw hasn’t let us down with this match-up with an in-form Wasps’ side. They are flying high in the Premiership and have not lost a game at home in 2016. To be involved in this type of fixture is exactly what we worked so hard for last year. We are excited by the challenge and opportunity to test ourselves against one of the best teams in Europe.”

Connacht team to face Wasps
Sunday December 11th, kick off 13:00, Ricoh Arena
(Connacht caps in brackets)

15           Tiernan O’Halloran (111)
14           Niyi Adeolokun (42)
13           Stacey Ili (7)
12           Bundee Aki (51)
11           Cian Kelleher (10)
10           Jack Carty (65)
9             Kieran Marmion (109)

1             Denis Buckley (101)
2             Tom McCartney (49)
3             Conor Carey (8)
4             Ultan Dillane (34)
5             Quinn Roux (40)
6             Nepia Fox-Matamua (11)
7             Jake Heenan (43)
8             John Muldoon (captain) (286)

16           Dave Heffernan (67)
17           JP Cooney (37)
18           Finlay Bealham (65)
19           Sean O’Brien (23)
20           Eoin McKeon (95)
21           Caolin Blade
22           Rory Parata (19)
23           Peter Robb (22)

Injured: Ronan Loughney, Ivan Soroka, Conan O’Donnell, Ben Marshall, Andrew Browne, Eoghan Masterson, John Cooney*, Marnitz Boshoff, Shane O’Leary, Craig Ronaldson, Eoin Griffin, Josh Rowland, Darragh Leader.

*John Cooney was a late withdrawal from the side having suffered a minor quad strain in training this week.