Tourlestrane GAA Club Notes

On Friday the 11th of November 2016, our Minor boys team made history by winning the Connacht Minor B Championship Final. Under the lights in the Centre of Excellence, Ballyhaunis, the gallant and determined team overcame St. Ciaran’s (Roscommon) after extra time on a scoreline of 1-16 to 1-12.


connacht-minor-champions-2016-management connacht-minor-champions-2016-captain

Tourlestrane played into the strong wind in the first half and went in at the break 2 points to the deficit on score of Tourlestrane 1-4 St. Ciaran’s 1-6. Scoring 1-4 into this stiff wind was a great feat with our backline and midfield pairing working feriously to set up good quality ball into our ever ready forward line.
Tourlestrane had a strong wind for the second half with the Roscommon team proving to be a resiliant side, the teams were tied at full time on a score of 1-10 each, sending the game into extra time in front of a large crowd.
The Tourlestrane side put in a huge effort against the wind in the first half of extra time and went in at half time leading by a point.
As the whistle blew for half time of extra time Tourlestrane lead on a scoreline of 1-13 to St. Ciaran’s 1-11
With the aid of the wind in the second half of extra time, Tourlestrane pushed on, outscoring the Roscommon side 3 points to 1 point.
After 90 minutes of intense football, the final whistle blew and it was Tourlestrane who were victorious with 1-16 to 1-12 on the scoreboard.
It was an excellent game throughout with huge amounts of skill on display both teams. St. Ciaran’s, the underage combination of Fuerty, Creggs, Athleague and Tremane, showed what a great side they are and all the hard work that has gone on in their underage systmem over the years.
The fitness levels showed by our Tourlestrane boys and their team work rate earned them this historic crown. The players who came off the bench and those who encouraged from the side line proved that this titled was earned by hard work and dedication of an exceptional group of 24 players from our parish.
Team: Adam Broe, Cian O’Hara, Seán McVeigh, Conor Gilligan, Jon Durkin, Kevin O’Hara, Ronan Walsh, Conan Marren, Liam Gaughan, Rian Bailey, Cian Surlis, Cathal Fleming, Barry Brennan(Capt), Eoghan Leonard, Mark Lundy, Diarmuid Brennan, Joe Molloy, Ben Tracey, Jonathan O’Hara, Stephen Clarke, Rian Walsh, Eoin Walsh, Mark Fallon, Jack Walsh
Congratulations to our team, our very proud management team of David Bailey, Stephen Henry Jnr, Paddy Henry, Adrian McIntyre and the parents of all involved on an outstanding victory.